The Australian dollar is the official currency of the Commonwealth of Australia. The dollar (AUD) is subdivided into 100 cent and identified by the symbol $, or A$ to distinguish it from other dollar-denominated currencies. The Australian Dollar is the sixth most traded currency in the foreign exchange markets, trailing behind the United States dollar, Japanese yen, euro, British pound sterling and Canadian dollar.

Exchange rates are published daily. These rates are provided for indicative purposes only.

The foreign exchange reference rates are published by the European Central Bank.

Australia Currency

Currency Name: Australian dollar
Official user(s) : Australia and 7 Australian territories (Ashmore and Cartier Islands, Antarctic Territory, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Coral Sea Islands, Heard Island and McDonald Islands,Norfolk Island), Kiribati, Nauru and Tuvalu.
Nicknames: Buck, Dough
Currency Symbol/Sign: $ or A$
Cent: c or ¢
ISO code: AUD
Central bank: Reserve Bank of Australia
Sub-Unit: 1 dollar = 100 cent.
Banknotes: $5, $10, $20, $50, $100
Coins: 5c, 10c, 20c, 50c, $1, $2.
Currency Peg: No
Black Market for Currency: No
Currency Volatility: Low

Central Bank Rate

The current central bank interest rate is 3.75%. This is lower than 2011, which was 4.25%.

Currency Calculator

Currency Exchange Table (Australian dollar)

Exchange rates today: Sunday 21st of April 2024

Country Australian Dollar Euro
Australian dollar (AUD) 1 AUD = 0.6016 €
1.6622 AUD = 1 €
20 AUD = 12.0322 €
50 AUD = 30.0806 €
100 AUD = 60.1612 €
500 AUD   = 300.8062 €
1000 AUD = 601.6123 €

The rates are set on the basis of the regular daily concertation procedure between national central banks, which normally takes place at 2.15 p.m. CET. The exchange rates are for reference only and are published daily when TARGET system is open.