The Israeli new shekel is the official currency of Israel. The ISO code is ILS and identified by the symbol ₪. The shekel is subdivided into 100 agorot. The new Israel Shekel is issued by the Bank of Israel. The name “shekel” was derived from an ancient unit of weight that amounts to approximately one ounce or 12 grams.

Exchange rates are published daily. These rates are provided for indicative purposes only.

The foreign exchange reference rates are published by the European Central Bank.

Israel Currency

Currency Name: Israeli new shekel
Local Name: שקל חדש (Hebrew)
Users: Israel, Palestinian territories
Currency Symbol/Sign: ₪
ISO code: ILS
Central bank: Bank of Israel
Subunit: 1 shekel = 100 agorot
Banknotes: 20, 50, 100, 200 new shkalim
Coins: 10 agorot, ½, 1, 2, 5, 10 new shkalim.

Currency Peg:No
Black Market for Currency:Yes
Currency Volatility:unknown

Central Bank Rate

The current central bank interest rate is 2.50%.

Currency Calculator

Exchange rates today: Saturday 20th of July 2024

Country Israeli Shekel Euro
Israeli Shekel (ILS) 1 ILS = 0.2512 €
3.9805 ILS = 1 €
20 ILS = 5.0245 €
50 ILS = 12.5612 €
100 ILS = 25.1225 €
500 ILS   = 125.6124 €
1000 ILS = 251.2247 €

The rates are set on the basis of the regular daily concertation procedure between national central banks, which normally takes place at 2.15 p.m. CET. The exchange rates are for reference only and are published daily when TARGET system is open.