The Brazilian Real is the official currency of Brazil since 1994. Its sign is R$ and its ISO code is BRL. The real (plural reais) subdivided into 100 centavos. The real replaced the previous “cruzeiro,” which had been the monetary unit since 1942.

Exchange rates are published daily. These rates are provided for indicative purposes only.

The foreign exchange reference rates are published by the European Central Bank.

Currency of Brazil

Currency Name: Brazilian real
Local name: real brasileiro (Portuguese)
Official user(s): Brazil
Nicknames: Real
Currency Symbol/Sign: R$
ISO code: BRL
Central bank: Central Bank of Brazil
Subunit: 1 real = 100 centavo.
Plural: Reais
Banknotes: 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 real
Coins: 5, 10, 25, 50 centavos, R$1
Currency Peg: No (as of 1999)
Black Market for Currency: No
Currency Volatility: Low to Medium.

Central Bank Rate

The current central bank interest rate is 9.00%. This is lower than 2011, which was 11.00%.

Currency Calculator

Exchange rates today: Monday 22nd of April 2024

Country Brazilian Real Euro
Brazilian Real, BRL 1 BRL = 0.1780 €
5.6165 BRL = 1 €
20 BRL = 3.5609 €
50 BRL = 8.9023 €
100 BRL = 17.8047 €
500 BRL   = 89.0234 €
1000 BRL = 178.0468 €

The rates are set on the basis of the regular daily concertation procedure between national central banks, which normally takes place at 2.15 p.m. CET. The exchange rates are for reference only and are published daily when TARGET system is open.