The South African rand is the official currency of South Africa since 1961. Rand is subdivided into 100 cents, symbol "c", its abbreviation R and The ISO 4217 code is ZAR.

Exchange rates are published daily. These rates are provided for indicative purposes only.

The foreign exchange reference rates are published by the European Central Bank.

South Africa currency

Currency Name: South African Rand
Local name: Suid-Afrikaanse rand (Afrikaans)
Official user(s): South Africa, Lesotho, Namibia
Unofficial user(s): Swaziland
Currency Symbol/Sign: R
ISO code: ZAR
Central bank: South African Reserve Bank
Subunit: 1 Rand = 100 cents.
Banknotes: R 10, R 20, R 50, R 100, R 200
Coins: 5c, 10c, 20c, 50c, R 1, R 2, R 5.
Currency Peg:No
Black Market for Currency:Yes
Currency Volatility:unknown

Central Bank Rate

The current central bank interest rate is 5.50%

Currency Calculator

Exchange rates today: Tuesday 25th of June 2024

Country South African Rand Euro
South African Rand, ZAR 1 ZAR = 0.0514 €
19.4537 ZAR = 1 €
20 ZAR = 1.0281 €
50 ZAR = 2.5702 €
100 ZAR = 5.1404 €
500 ZAR   = 25.7021 €
1000 ZAR = 51.4041 €

The rates are set on the basis of the regular daily concertation procedure between national central banks, which normally takes place at 2.15 p.m. CET. The exchange rates are for reference only and are published daily when TARGET system is open.