The euro (EUR) is the official currency of the eurozone and is the currency used in 17 members of the European Union. The Euro symbol is € and is subdivided into 100 cents. The euro is administered by the European System of Central Banks (ESCB), which is comprised of the European Central Bank (ECB) and the Eurozone central banks.

Exchange rates are published daily. These rates are provided for indicative purposes only.

The foreign exchange reference rates are published by the European Central Bank.

Euro Currency

Currency Name: Euro
Official user(s) : Euro area(17 countries.
Name: The name euro was officially adopted on 16 December 1995.
Nicknames: Ege (Finnish), Leru (Spanish), Yoyo (Irish English), Teuro (German).
Currency Symbol/Sign: €
ISO code: EUR
Central bank: European Central Bank
Subunit: 1 Euro = 100 cent.
Banknotes: 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 and 500 Euros.
Coins: 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 cent and 1, 2 euro.

Fast Facts

Other Currencies Accepted: None
Currency Peg:No
Black Market for Currency:N/A
Currency Volatility:N/A

Currency Calculator

Euro area member states

The 17 European Union (EU) member states that have adopted the euro (The eurozone) : Germany, Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia and Slovenia.

EU countries not using the euro : Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

Non-EU Euro countries using the euro: Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, The Vatican, Martinique, Guadalupe (Caribbean), Reunion (Indian Ocean), Montenegro, Kosovo.

Exchange rates today: Saturday 20th of July 2024

The rates are set on the basis of the regular daily concertation procedure between national central banks, which normally takes place at 2.15 p.m. CET. The exchange rates are for reference only and are published daily when TARGET system is open.